People Are Strange (The Doors)

I have seen all kinds of people that walked through my showroom doors. Apart from the occasional demanding customers, there are a few that left lasting impressions. For instance, I will never forget the faces of a Malay couple who ripped me off a few years ago after I helped them.

The husband came into the showroom and related how he had lost his wallet and had no money to return home. This may be a typical hoax that I would have brushed off immediately but he showed me a police report and what really got to me was when he pointed to his wife and three kids outside my showroom who were waiting for him. I took out some money and even my boss chipped in after hearing about it. Unknowingly, while we were busy taking cash out of our wallets, the son of a bitch had managed to grabbed my handphone that was resting near the table I was working at. After receiving the money, he left hastily with his family. Only a few minutes later did I realised what had happened. Since then, I am more wary of people asking me for help.

And just a few hours ago, an Indian man came in and showed me of all things … his prison release letter. He said he could not get a job and did not receive any help from anybody since leaving prison and asked if I could donate some money to help him. He opened up a blue plastic bag in front of me as if it was a donation can. I said we do not do such things in the showroom and he left immediately. Ironically, I feel it was genuine this time but the lingering smell of alcohol did not convince me any donation would be of use.

The liars aside, there was also an old Chinese man who came in a few years ago when I was about to close the showroom. He was really friendly and I didn’t have the heart to tell him I was leaving. The strange thing about this incident was the fact that he opened up a big photo album and showed me pictures of his daughter that he spoke only good things of. How much he loved her … how filial she was … etc …

This could just be a case of a loving father who likes to show off. Then again the pictures weren’t really recent ones but looked like they were taken in the 70’s. There was not a single recent photo. Why would someone be lugging a big photo album everywhere he goes in the first place? I basically listened to him until he left about two hours later. In the back of my mind I was thinking that the pictures were probably of his daughter … but who passed away long ago. And there was her father who just couldn’t let her go.

~ by blackcadillac73 on March 13, 2007.

3 Responses to “People Are Strange (The Doors)”

  1. That last story you never told me. Well it’s a really sad story and it brought a tear to my eye. I would have sat down with him, bought him a drink and just hear him out.

    But don’t do that if you have a date with me lah. πŸ™‚

  2. my hp was stolen by (more or less) the same scam. This indian lady came barging in with a brood of her offsprings trying to sell me some bags. Took off with my hp right under my nose! I have also fallen prey to some scratch & win contest. Now i’m so hati batu orang mintak derma pun i bo layan πŸ™‚

  3. Raggedyanne, dorang ni kalau nak tipu ke curi ke, janganlah bawak anak join sekali. Camna budak2 ni tak masuk jail, mak bapak yang ajar.

Leave a Reply

 
