National Breakout (The Romantics)

This year’s National Day celebration at Marina Bay seemed better than previous ones with its water element setting and city skyline backdrop. A nice change from the old National Stadium venue. I’ve never witnessed it live before and been contented in watching it on television from the comforts of my own home. There’s no doubting the euphoric feeling of watching it right before your eyes and the patriotism instilled at least for that couple of hours. Once the closing credits started rolling on screen, the patriotism within me drained sooner than I could change channels.

Throughout the event, I thought I was watching a cultural concert by the Singapore Soka Association; given the number of performances they put up. Actually, I didn’t even know the existence of this religious sect till yesterday. Understandably, the uniformed groups had to be showcased every year although the sight of men in green camouflage garbs only reminded me of stinking body odour and mosquito attacks.

I had fun though looking at the leader of the roller-blading team fell on his butt and admired his quick comeback. I didn’t know what he was supposed to be. Was he a fish or the last samurai? The students from Clementi Primary School were great and two of them stood out in my mind. One rather plump Chinese boy with a ‘I’m-so-tired-I’m-going-to-faint’ facial expression and one little Indian boy who looked cute in his starfish costume.

Overall, an admirable National Day celebration finished with the brilliant must-have fireworks. Although I only managed to watch from when the President’s convoy arrived, I thank my lucky stars I didn’t have to hear Anak Mamak’s screeching voice.

~ by blackcadillac73 on August 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
