Brown Rice (Don Cherry)

hob1.jpg hob3.jpg hob4.jpg hob6.jpg

Not contented with Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits at Changi Airport Terminal 1, we headed to North Bridge Road after returning from Phuket and stopped by House of Briyani. I’ve been wanting to eat there since the place opened but never had the chance. I love my briyani.

Upon arrival, we saw 3 versions of briyani displayed on the counter. I’m not sure if they had more but I ordered the Iranian one with mutton, just to see if there was anything remarkably different about it apart from the colour of the rice.

I wouldn’t say it was bad, but I definitely feel I’ve tasted better ones, although the rest of the family were quite satisfied with theirs. The mutton on mine was very dry to the tastebuds. Perhaps the staff heating the food using the microwave oven before serving to us had something to do with it. I really hate it when they do that; just like food served to customers at Secret Recipe.

Ooyah didn’t eat much of her briyani either. Just scattered it around and was more contented munching on her papadums.

~ by blackcadillac73 on March 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Brown Rice (Don Cherry)”

  1. Looks quite appetizing. Do they have fish briyani? I’m not big on red meat lah…

    And that hygiene cert… they really proud of it, huh, paste it on the glass for everyone to see *LOL*

  2. I’m not too sure if they have fish. I always aim for mutton, if not chicken.

    I wouldn’t paste the certificate in such a glaring position if I was the owner. There are lots of hawker stalls with A ratings. Hehehe …

Leave a Reply

 
