Le Chalet (Gaiete Lyrique)

   

I can count with my fingers the number of times I’ve been to a chalet. Attending a gathering at one that is, not booking and organising one. 1 … 2 … 3 …

That’s right. 3 times.

The first one was way back during my secondary school days, the second was right after I finished my National Service and last night was my third. I guess it’s safe to say that I only go to a chalet gathering once every decade. It’s not as if I shun the whole chalet experience but the grilled satays and whatnots can only entice you for so long before boredom sets in.

Last night’s venue was Costa Sands Resort (Pasir Ris), organised by Fadelinah’s maternal side. There was food aplenty and it was enjoyable for quite a while before the ruckus created by boisterous kids running around gave me a splitting headache. Ooyah being Ooyah, was excited further by the sight of her older cousins and contributed her share to the chaos.

I then brought her along to check out what else the resort (can you even call it that?) had to offer and was also looking out for the nearest beach, only to see the vicinity packed with families and friends celebrating the conquests of their individual chalets with food and drinks, accompanied by loud music. Reminded me of Geylang Serai during Hari Raya for some strange reasons.

The family have been contemplating booking a chalet themselves for the past few years, especially during public holidays but it never materialised. The late reservations that came to nought, the spooky ambience at some available chalets that deterred us, as well as exorbitant rates charged by a few … no doubt attractive if you have 3 or 4 families renting one but way too big for us.

Seems like we’ll have another go at booking one this June, though we always tend to end up at ‘chalets’ across the Causeway.

~ by blackcadillac73 on April 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
