Future Retro (Devo)

Smeg was officially launched by their new Singapore distributor last Tuesday night. As usual, UKF was invited and we arrived at the APS Lifestyle Gallery to see the old familiar faces of our competitors and trade partners. Smeg products are not new to me as I’ve used them for a few projects before but the launch did showcase a few new additions to the existing models, of which a few did grab my attention. Not the modern-looking ones though, as I simply do not see them posing much competition to the already extensive range provided by other German and Italian brands. I was more keen on the retro-looking models that brings to mind the 50’s era.

Amongst them, a refrigerator with vertical multi-coloured stripes and a matt black gas range with an oblong viewing panel, but the one that takes the cake would be the pink washing machine! Definitely for those with a fetish for the colour pink.

I’m not sure if they’ll complement any of the contemporary kitchen designs I normally do. Then again, I’ve never seen a truly retro kitchen set-up in Singapore.

~ by blackcadillac73 on May 16, 2008.

7 Responses to “Future Retro (Devo)”

  1. Cool retro striped fridge. I’ll kill for that!

  2. Something to consider if you ever decide to renovate your existing kitchen into a retro-looking one. A kitchen plan is all you need and I’ll gladly take care of the rest. 😀

  3. I have something special in my blog for you 🙂

  4. Wahhh … got plesent issit?

  5. hehe – not the kind of cool present you hope for lah – but vely vely special hor!

  6. where are you based ? singapore or malaysia ? I really love the retro kitchen appliances.

  7. Singapore actually. Yeah … they do look good don’t they? I wish I can have them in my own kitchen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
