In Darkness Let Me Dwell (Sting & Edin Karamarov)

Almost jumped out of my seat when I saw Sting‘s face on Sistic’s website highlighting his one-night only concert on December 8 at Esplanade Concert Hall. Finally he’ll be singing his solo hits, or so I thought. Turned out he’ll be accompanied by lutenist Edin Karamarov doing songs from the critically-acclaimed album, “Songs from the Labyrinth” – a personal tribute to late 16th-century Elizabethan composer, John Dowland. They’ll also be joined by British a cappella choir Stile Antico.

Edin who? John who? Stile who?

Damn it. I know it’s going to be full-house even though ticket prices will be similar to when he last performed here with The Police, with some going at $600 a pop. I love his voice, but do I really want to join a bunch of arty-farty folks seemingly mesmerised by songs most have no clues about.

Why can’t he just belt out ‘Shape Of My Heart’, ‘Fragile’, ‘Englishman In New York’ and the likes? At least I won’t hesitate to drop by the nearest Sistic outlet to purchase the tickets. I think I’ll leave this one to the gang to decide.

Or we could just use the money to top-up the expenditure of our next holiday.

~ by blackcadillac73 on July 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “In Darkness Let Me Dwell (Sting & Edin Karamarov)”

  1. bro, we definitely need to attend this. we discuss over dinner soon with the wives ya?

  2. Will do.

Leave a Reply

 
