Preparation (Philospher’s Stone)

With Hari Raya Puasa celebrations closing in, our preparations have been somewhat lacklustre. Not wanting to waste home-baked cookies like we did the past few years, we’ve bought only a few from JB and our local contacts, including dropping by the home of the owners of Puteri Wedding Services to purchase a few. However, certain items need to be done in our own home like Kuih Kukus. Something that never goes to waste and normally runs out by the first few days. I have to admit Fadelinah’s version kicks ass. I’m not being bias because she’s my wife but I’ve never liked that cake until I had hers. Another item that she insists on baking every year is her brownies. OK … this one I’m not so keen as I simply can’t tell apart the quality of brownies made at home and those bought from shops. Her friends and colleagues seem to like them and even placed orders this year. Frankly, I would rather stay up late doing Kuih Kukus.

On the interior furnishing front, new curtains have been bought from our favourite shop in Clementi and hung from the newly installed and lowered track that I drilled in yesterday, simply due to an oversight on my part when I first designed the place thinking curtains come in various heights even reaching to the ceiling. Actually the highest ones available off the shelves merely touch 2.3 metres. Can’t hang them from our existing track otherwise it’ll look like those people hiking up their pants during a flood. $500 customised curtains that can’t be ready by Hari Raya Puasa or installing a $45 aluminium track? The latter’s a safer bet.

While the rest of the family have bought most of their brand new clothes weeks before, I’ve resorted to just asking Ibu to buy one baju kurung on my behalf from JB mainly because I hate going through the crowds at Geylang Serai. Makes me wonder where all that enthusiasm have gone from when I was still a teenager. Weeks before the main day shopping for clothes and shoes with so much gusto, thereafter admiring and smelling my new shoes every morning like one Jakun-Kaya-Toast.

And for the first time, we engaged the help of a paid-by-the-hour maid to help finish up some of the cleaning. She seemed to have done a good job, except the folding of clothes. Wasn’t up to my standard and I have this urge to simply re-fold them again. Ah well … the apartment is now spick and span, the food and drinks are complete, the little ‘envelopes’ have also been prepared and my legs are so dead tired from all that climbing and crawling. I dread having to walk to all the houses we’ll be visiting tomorrow. Then again, it’s still better than having to do reservist training the day after like last year.

Selamat Hari Raya to all our Muslim friends and perhaps we’ll see you soon. 🙂

~ by blackcadillac73 on September 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
